McLean's Gin Ltd          *          Co. Reg: SC585440          *          AWRS Ref: XJAW  00000 111 234

FAQ

 

HOW/WHY IS MCLEAN'S GIN SO COLOURFUL?

Like everything else in the bottle, all of the colour in McLean's Gin is completely natural. Cherry Bakewell is infused with hibiscus petals to give it it's striking pink blush, whilst Something Blue is infused with blue-pea flowers to provide it's delicate blue complexion. Our Floral gin is infused with both!

What about Signature, Citrus and Spiced? Fresh Seville orange peel (amongst other select botanicals) give them their golden hue. These botanicals are "cold infused" with our spirit for a richer flavoured gin and some colourful quirk. 

WHY IS MCLEAN'S GIN ONLY 37.5%?

Sure, we're bucking the trend on this one.

37.5% ABV is the minimum ABV by which we can call our gin "gin". McLean's Gin was made to be savoured and enjoyed and we think that the flavours in our gin really shine at a lower ABV. We could go higher, but don't see any merit to doing so. Whilst most producers are bottling at a higher ABV, we've experimented to no end and really haven't found any great advantage to this (unless you really love being hungover the next day). 

McLean's is made by a cold-infusion technique and rest assured, our gin does not lack flavour. 

If you want to add some extra alcohol to your drink, we'd recommend a few drops of this: 

https://www.drinksupermarket.com/balkan-176-vodka-70cl-88-abv?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIjfTq6du43QIVS7ftCh2C9Ak7EAQYAiABEgIyefD_BwE

Otherwise, sit back, relax and enjoy. We're confident that you will. 

Oh, and Something Blue is a touch higher at 39.4% - but this increase is primarily cheesy wedding symbolism ("stronger together"), and a guy outside a pub once told us that spirits sell better with a really random ABV. 

IS MCLEAN'S GIN SUITABLE FOR VEGETARIANS/VEGANS?

Whilst we don’t have a Vegan stamp of approval, our gin is made only from distilled, neutral grain spirit; fresh, filtered water and our selection of botanicals. It contains no animal products in any form whatsoever. It is our belief therefore, that our product is suitable for both vegans and vegetarians.

IS MCLEAN'S GIN AVAILABLE OUTSIDE OF THE UK?

You can order McLean's Gin throughout most of mainland Europe from our online partners, Craft 56. find out more, here:

https://www.craft56.co.uk/delivery-returns/

We will be working hard to establish our gin beyond our own continent in the very near future. Stick with us!

IS MCLEAN’S GIN SUITABLE FOR CELIAC SUFFERERS?

McLean’s Gin is made using a neutral grain (wheat) spirit. Most experts believe that the distillation process removes enough of the potentially-harmful gluten proteins to render alcohol made from gluten grains as gluten-free.


Anecdotally, a close friend of ours who suffers with celiac disease is rather partial to our gin and has no issues whatsoever. However, we cannot certify our product as gluten-free and therefore advise caution to those with celiac disease.


Some celiac-sufferers will have no negative reaction, however we cannot guarantee that others won’t and for this reason, regrettably we aren't able to certify McLean’s Gin as gluten free.

DOES MCLEAN'S GIN USE ORGANIC BOTANICALS?

Our Juniper is Certified Organic. The majority of our botanicals are also Fair Trade and/or Certified Organic, and over time it is our aim to bring this to 100%.

Please feel free to contact us for a full-list of our Fair Trade and/or Certified Organic ingredients.

IS MCLEAN’S GIN SUITABLE FOR THOSE WITH NUT ALLERGIES?

There are no tree-nuts specifically used on our gin (even Cherry Bakewell; we use mahlab seed to give it that almondy depth).

However, whilst we make every possible effort to ensure our product is free from nuts, due to the nature of some of the botanicals in our range, McLean’s Gin is crafted in an environment where traces of tree-nuts could be present. Regrettably therefore, we aren't able to certify our product as nut-free. 

DOES MCLEAN'S GIN CONTAIN ANY OTHER ALLERGENS?

Tough question! Apparently 1 in 88,767 people are allergic to oranges, so yes, McLean's Gin can (and does) contain "allergens".

Please contact us to discuss any specific allergen information; we'll be happy to help.

DOES MCLEAN'S GIN HAVE A SHELF LIFE?

It's our recommendation that McLean’s Gin should be consumed within 12 months of purchase (it certainly wouldn't last that long in our house!), but it won't ever go "bad" as such. 

Whilst a distilled gin will keep indefinitely, infused, natural flavours (and actually more so; natural colours) may start to fade a little over extended periods of time.

Storing in a cool, dark place, particularly away from direct sunlight or sources of heat will help to preserve the natural flavours and colours of McLean's Gin. 

THERE'S A LITTLE SEDIMENT AT THE BOTTOM OF MY BOTTLE, IS THIS NORMAL?

Yes, this is perfectly normal and nothing to be alarmed about.

With a cold-infusion and filtration process, trace amounts of botanicals can (and often do) find their way through as we filter the gin before bottling. Gravity means that over time, any sediment will come to rest at the bottom of the bottle. But rather than avoiding the last few drops of the bottle, our advice would be to drink it up! The traces of botanicals that remain are packed full of vitamins and minerals. For example, juniper; the main botanical ingredient in all of our gin; is chock full of copper, chromium, calcium, iron, limonene, phosphorous, magnesium, potassium AND vitamin C! So as opposed to doing you any harm, any sediment in our gin is actually very nutritious! 

Don't see the answer you're looking for?